Adelaide

This evening its 20c, windy and that feels cold. Yesterday afternoon at this time it was 38c – I went to the movies just to cool off in the dark for a couple of hours. Its been in the 30’s since I arrived – there’s no escape in the caravan. What a relief these temperatures are today!

I’m on the road for Pandurra Station, 40 KM to the west of Port Augusta, tomorrow now that I’ve got the water tank system working – filled the tank, but the manual pump to the galley sink didn’t work, even though I installed a new pump. I want to have all the water possible for the next leg. I loaded up with supplies today. “On the road again …”.

I drove up to the Barossa valley a couple of days ago. Many vineyards to visit, but I chose Jacob’s Creek because I feel I’m almost a part owner in this business. Photo taken at their info centre.ย 

Toronto's just a hop, skip and a jump from here

Toronto’s just a hop, skip and a jump from here

Sorry Dick and Pat, I was going to buy you guys a case, but my ship’s loaded with water! Here’s a few grapes instead, and they’re just delicious to eat.

Cabernet Sauvignon

Cabernet Sauvignon

I didn’t get many photos of Adelaide, but I especially enjoyed the central market, the botanic garden, the art gallery, some of the Fringe Festival and the old stone villas and buildings. This guy was working in 38c temps at the ‘Fringe’, in the open sun, cooking huge pork roasts by hand – he didn’t appreciate my suggestion to throw another shrimp on the barbie ๐Ÿ™‚

throw another shrimp on the barbie

throw another shrimp on the barbie

entrance to the Adelaide arcade

entrance to the Adelaide arcade

one of many neat pubs around the town - they make tastie Greek salad

one of many neat pubs around the town – they make tastie Greek salad

Can hardly wait to get on the road in the morning. This park is right next to the A1 – the roar of trucks and traffic is unrelenting 24×7 and there’s a sewage plant nearby – I think there’s a guy with a big spoon that gets in there to give it a good stir every so often. Silence awaits tomorrow night on the ‘edge’ of the Nullarbor – I’ve been told more than once that the “bor” part is for the boring drive – long, flat, dry, straight. Tomorrow evening, I’ll be back to the region that Doug and I hitch-hiked to back in the sixties before turning back to Sydney – so, picking up where I left off.

About durhamgjvoyageur

Retired guy, travelling and enjoying our amazing world!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Adelaide

  1. Cathy Lee Farley says:

    Hi Jerry,

    I’m enjoying your posts – seeing a bit of Australia from afar. And it’s always nice to hear how you’re doing. Travel well! Love, Cathy Lee

  2. Keep it up Dad, I love reading your posts! xx

    • Nickie, you should see where I am tonight โ€“ 40 KMS west of Port Augusta on the verge of desert โ€“ dry, dry, dry scrub land, flat in all directions – Pandurra station. Thereโ€™s a mob of sheep next to me baaaahing, waiting to be shorn tomorrow. A gang of guys was busy shearing when I arrived this afternoon. The family owners have held this station since 1895! The colours of the land are incredible as the sun falls into the west. Thereโ€™s a dry wind blowing across the land, but its so peaceful here. I can’t describe the magic about the place. Probably freeze my butt off tonight ๐Ÿ™‚

      Jerry Durham (Cell: +61 4 3159 9552)

  3. Sue says:

    this is awesome to read and visualize – I sure hope you are writng a book as you gone along – these stories are fantastic – looking forward to more
    xxoo

  4. Mossy says:

    Great reading Jerry, you will inspire the rest of us to give it a go one day. Although I will do it in a 28′ motor-home like the one we took out west of Brisbane a few years back ha ha. Watched a few videos and looked at the photos of our Whitsunday sailing adventure the other day. That was an awesome time as well and I will be doing it again. Take care buddy watch out for those snakes.

Leave a Reply

